Why behaviourism is wrong

I’ve been reading Searle’s “The Rediscovery of the Mind” and I found this nugget:

“The principle on which we ‘solve’ the problem of other minds, … , is not: same-behaviour-ergo-same-mental-phenomena. That is the old mistake enshrined in the Turing Test. If this principle were correct, we would all have to conclude that radios are conscious because they exhibit intelligent verbal behaviour.”

~ by majorshake on September 15, 2011.

2 Responses to “Why behaviourism is wrong”

  1. Very good quote… it left me thinking.

    • Glad you think so! I’m reading Searle’s book right now and I find myself agreeing with almost everything he says. Glad it’s only almost everything, because otherwise I could just quit studying philosophy 😉

Leave a Reply

 
